Grand Canyon in Color

Grand Canyon-12

Even though I lived in Arizona for several years, I never made the time to visit the Grand Canyon. Sure, like most, I didn’t have the extra time, money, or initiative to make it happen. In the end, those were all just excuses.

Grand Canyon-2

Fourteen years after I moved away from Arizona, I finally made it to the Grand Canyon. While I’m happy for having the opportunity to finally visit this amazing piece of nature, I found myself wishing that I had made the trip many years ago, when it was far more convenient and inexpensive.

Grand Canyon-5

The lesson to be learned here, is that you should take the time to explore your backyard. Sure, elaborate trips overseas are great. But there can be so much to see locally. Looking back, I find it ironic that I’ll spend money buying a travel book and time researching what I want to do and what I want to see when I go somewhere, yet I haven’t put in the resources to do the same at home. Do yourself a favor. Get out. Explore. Own your neck of the woods.

 

Leave a Reply

