What’s in My Bag?

During my trip to Los Angeles, I went to Amoeba Music in Hollywood. This is probably the best record store I’ve ever been to. Lots of vinyl, collectables, music, and movies. On their website is a series of videos where famous and not-so-famous people share what is in their shopping bag. I’m certainly not as famous as some of the people they interviewed on their website, but I’d like to share some of the great selections this store has available. What's in my bag?

Johnny Horton’s Greatest hits: I used to listen to this album all the time when I was a kid. Of course, the family copy of this album was discarded over the years. Finding a copy of Johnny Horton’s Greatest Hits (which was harder than it sounds) has probably been a means for me to reclaim my childhood in a small way.

Johnny Horton

Nirvana – Live in Melbourne, Australia, 1/2/1992: Ironically, I live in the Seattle area, but picked up a live Nirvana album in Hollywood. This performance was part of Nirvana’s Nevermind tour, before In Utero was released in 1993. Love them or hate them, Nirvana helped put Seattle on the map for a new generation and prompted many to pick up instruments of their own.

DSC_8856

Joy Division – Autosuggestions: This limited edition, colored vinyl is comprised of early radio sessions and demos. Joy Division may not have been around very long, but in their short existence, they managed to put out some amazing songs and influenced many subsequent bands.

DSC_8859

R.E.M. – Right on Target: This import vinyl is from a live European radio broadcast from 1984. It includes a great selection of early R.E.M. songs, which, as far as I’m concerned, is their best work.

DSC_8861

One comment

  1. Amoeba Records is awesome! I could spend hours (maybe days, weeks, months, years) blissfully lost exploring their aisles.

Leave a Reply

